Visit the New Worldmapper
You are currently viewing the Worldmapper Archive. Don't miss our new website by going to the following URL: - Rediscover the world as you've never seen it before!


Search for a map:

< Previous Map


Next Map >

Spread of the Spanish language

This smaller map removes the countries where Spanish is dominant. This map therefore only shows 0.4% of all speakers of Spanish. The territories omitted are United States, Spain, Argentina, Chile, Costa Rica, Uruguay, Cuba, Mexico, Panama, Venezuela, Colombia, Peru, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Bolivia, Honduras, Nicaragua, Guatemala and Puerto Rico.

Click the map for a larger image.

Spanish is a Romance language (derived from Latin), and there are roughly 362 million first-language speakers in at least 39 territories. As well as being the primary language of Spain, it has been established since the 16th century as the dominant language of most of southern and central America, and there are also 28 million first-language speakers in the United States.

Modern Spanish originated from the region of Castile, hence the alternative name of Castilian.

Territory size shows the proportion of all people who speak Spanish as a first language that live in that territory.

population map
Open Population Map
for comparison

| Articles | Data | FAQ | News | RSS |

Sheffield University Logo University of Michigan Logo
The Geographical Association Logo
Center for the Study of Complex Systems logo Society of Cartographers logo
The Leverhulme Trust Logo