Discover the New Worldmapper
Worldmapper has a new website with many updated and new maps:
Our archive currently encounters some technical problems. If you are searching for an old map and don't find it on our new website, please contact us.
We also need your support to keep Worldmapper up and running.


Search for a map:

< Appendix A

Appendix B: Islands Assigned to Territories

Appendix 2 of 3

Open PDF poster

Appendix C >

Data for the populations of these areas are hard to find, so they are scaled according to the territory of sovereignty (indicated in brackets): American Samoa ( United States ), Anguilla ( United Kingdom ), Aruba ( Netherlands ), Ashmore and Cartier Islands ( Australia ), Baker Island ( United States ), Bermuda ( United Kingdom ), Bouvet Island ( Norway ), British Indian Ocean Territory (United Kingdom), British Virgin Islands (United Kingdom), Cayman Islands (United Kingdom), Christmas Island ( Australia ), Clipperton Island ( France ), Cocos (or Keeling) Islands ( Australia ), Coral Sea Islands ( Australia ), Europa Island ( France ), Falkland Islands (or Islas Malvinas) (United Kingdom), Faroe Islands ( Denmark ), French Guiana ( France ), French Polynesia ( France ), French Southern and Antarctic Territories ( France ), Gibraltar ( United Kingdom ), Glorioso Islands ( France ), Guadeloupe ( France ), Guam ( United States ), Guernsey ( United Kingdom ), Heard Island and McDonald Islands ( Australia ), Howland Island ( United States ), Isle of Man ( United Kingdom ), Jarvis Island (United States), Jersey ( United Kingdom ), Johnston Atoll ( United States ), Juan de Nova Island ( France ), Kingman Reef ( United States ), Macao ( China ), Martinique ( France ), Mayotte ( France ), Midway Islands ( United States ), Montserrat ( United Kingdom ), Navassa Island ( United States ), Netherlands Antilles ( Netherlands ), New Caledonia ( France ), Norfolk Island ( Australia ), Northern Mariana Islands (United States), Palmyra Atoll ( United States ), Paracel Islands ( China ), Pitcairn Islands ( United Kingdom ), Réunion (France), Saint Helena ( United Kingdom ), Saint Pierre and Miquelon ( France ), South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands ( United Kingdom ), Spratly Islands ( China ), Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands ( Norway ), Tokelau ( New Zealand ), Tromelin Island ( France ), Turks and Caicos Islands (United Kingdom), Virgin Islands ( United States ), Wake Island ( United States ), Wallis and Futuna (France).

The following territory is made up of two areas on the map: Serbia & Montenegro .

The following uninhabited areas are not included: Bassas da India, Bird Island , Scarborough Reef, and Senkaku Island .

We recognise that many people consider themselves to be part of a group that should be recognised as inhabiting a separate territory, though they are not currently recognised as such.


There are 200 territories (mainly countries) represented in this series of maps. The maps contain 262 areas that are resized, so 62 areas share data with other areas. Most of these 62 areas are small islands, and they are allocated to the territory from which they are governed. This is shown in the list to the left. These 62 areas are only assigned to Australia , China , Denmark , France , the Netherlands , New Zealand , Norway , the United Kingdom and the United States .

The 200 territories were mostly included if they were United Nations member states, have ratified United Nations agreements, or statistics from the United Nations and other sources treat them as separate entities. The 62 areas are usually not listed separately in international datasets. The maps re-size each island by the same proportion as the territory to which it is assigned is re-sized.

Antarctica is treated like the sea, and has a constant area on all maps. The size of Antarctica bears no relation to the mapped variable.

"No man is an island, entire of itself; every man is a piece of the continent, a part of the main." John Donne, 1623

Open PDF poster
population map Open Population Map for comparison

| Articles | Data | FAQ | News | RSS |

Sheffield University Logo University of Michigan Logo
The Geographical Association Logo
Center for the Study of Complex Systems logo Society of Cartographers logo
The Leverhulme Trust Logo